Gajapati at Paralakhemundi

District Court Building, Gajapati at Paralakhemundi

The Judgeship of Gajapati came into existence on 30th July, 2011 after bifurcation of the Judgeship of Ganjam-Gajapati and started functioning with headquarters at Paralakhemundi. The outlying stations are at R. Udayagiri, Mohana and Kashinagar.

The new District Court building was inaugurated on 20th November, 2020. The building has a basement and three floors. There are 11 Courtrooms. The basement is being used for parking of the vehicles. Other facilities such as lift, Air Conditioner and fire safety measures have been installed in the building.

The new District Court building constructed by OSPH and WC at a total cost of around Rs.17.71 crores was inaugurated on 20th November, 2021.

The Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate became paperless on 17th September.

Gajapati comes under the DCDH at Ganjam which was inaugurated on 12th December, 2022.

The foundation stone for the project “Construction of Court Building for Sr. Civil Judge at R. Udaygiri” was laid on 31st July, 2022, which is to be executed by Rural Works at an estimated cost of Rs. 7.53 Crores.

The Judgeship was last inspected on 30th July, 2022 by the Administrative Judge Justice B. R. Sarangi.

Shri Satyapira Mishra was the District and Sessions Judge till 30th July, 2022 and Shri Pranab Kumar Routray took over on 1st August, 2022.

Apart from the District and Sessions Judge, the judgeship consists of the following courts.

Number of judges in each court

Case Statistics