District Court Building, Ganjam

After the bifurcation of Ganjam & Puri districts on 10th June, 1957, the reorganized Judgeship came to be known as Ganjam. In 1984, Phulbani District was carved out. On 2nd October, 1992, a new District viz Gajapati was constituted and the name of the Judgeship was changed to Ganjam- Gajapati. On 30th July, 2011, when Gajapati District was separated from this Judgeship, it came to be known as Ganjam Judgeship.The headquarters of Ganjam is located in Berhampur. The outlying stations are at Sanakhemundi, Digapahandi, Chhatrapur, Soroda, Bhanjanagar, Buguda, Kodala, Aska, Patrapur, Purusottampur, Hinjlicut, Seragada, Kabisuryanagar, Polsara, Khallikote and Jagannathprasad.

The District Court is functioning in an old building at Berhampur which was constructed in 1948 with 8 Court rooms. It is approximately spread over in land measuring Ac 3.491 Dec. approximately and in 1948, a building with plinth area of 13,275 sq.ft. housing 10 Court rooms was constructed adjacent to the old building.

The Foundation stone for construction of Court Building for Civil Judge-cum-JMFC at Jagannathprasad and construction of Court Complex at Bhanjanagar was laid on 31st August, 2022. The project at Jagannathprasad is to be executed by Rural Works at an estimated cost of Rs. 2.65 Crores. The project at Bhanjanagar is to be executed by R & B (Roads and Building) at an estimated cost of Rs. 22.06 Crores.

The Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate became paperless on 17th September, 2022.

The District Court Digitization Hub (DCDH) was inaugurated on 12th December, 2022 and it serves as a hub for Gajapati.

The Judgeship was last inspected on 3rd December, 2022 by the Administrative Judge Mr. Jaustice B.R Sarangi.

Shri Ananda Chandra Behera was the District and Sessions Judge through out the year.

Apart from the District and Sessions Judge, the judgeship consists of the following courts.

Number of judges in each court

Case Statistics

*Closing Balance changed due to physical verification