Kandhamal at Phulbani

District Court Building, Kandhalal at Phulbani

The district of Kandhamal was constituted on 1st January, 1994 from the former BoudhKandhmal District with its headquarters at Phulbani. Since 11th April, 1984, the Judgeship of Phulbani was separated from the combined Judgeship of Ganjam-Boudh constituting its territorial jurisdiction over three sub-divisions, Phulbani, Boudh & Balliguda, with 7 subordinate Courts. After separation of Boudh, the Judgeship of Phulbani is presently functioning with outlying stations at Baliguda, G.Udaygiri, Daringibadi, Kotagarh and Tumudibandha, Raikia.

The Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate became paperless on 17th September, 2022.

Kandhamal comes under the DCDH atNayagarh which was inaugurated on 12th December, 2022 in virtual mode by the Chief Justice of India.

The District Court is functioning in an old building constructed in 1999, having two floors with 9 Court rooms, of which 2 are in ground floor and the other 5 are in the first floor. Adjacent to this old building, there exists another Court Building with 2 other Court rooms having facilities like Video Conferencing (VC) Hall, VC Cabin and E-Sewa Kendra.

Shri Sarada Prasanna Nayak was the District & Session Court Judge throughout the year. Shri Santosh Kumar Jena was the in charge District Judge till 9th February, 2022. Shri Sitikantha Samal took over on 10th February, 2022 and continued till 6th December, 2022. Then Shri Satyapira Mishra took over on 9th December, 2022.

The Judgeship was last inspected on 3rd September, 2022 by the Administrative Judge, Justice M.S. Sahoo.

Apart from the District and Sessions Judge, the judgeship consists of the following courts.

Number of judges in each court

Case Statistics